Changing Exchange Server name or Upgrading the Exchange Server version within UC Server

Version 4

     

    When moving from one exchange server to another within the same version, often times the server name changes for identification purposes. Even when running the same version of Exchange, if the server name changes, there are specific steps that must be taken on UC to correctly rebuild Exchange profiles. This same set of steps is also required when an Exchange server is upgraded to a more recent version.

     

    1. Migrating users and removing Exchange server

         a. Download MFCMapi to your UC server from this site: http://mfcmapi.codeplex.com/

         b. Log in to the administrator section of the Netvanta UC client and go to the “Servers” window. Right click and select “New” and then “SMTP”. Fill in all of the required boxes with properly formatted information, but none of the information has to be valid as this account is just a placeholder and will be deleted at the end of this document.

             

         c. Once you’ve created this mailbox, go to “Tools” on the file menu and select “Options”. Click the “Message Delivery” tab. From the drop down next to “Send e-mail using”, select the new server you just created

             

         d. Click “OK” and open the “Users” window. Right click anywhere and select “Migrate Users”. Click “Next”, and select the “Windows users to Local users and authentications” radio box. Click “Next”.

             

     

     

         e. Check only the “Migrate to Local Message Store” option and click “Next”.

             

     

     

         f. Finally, select all users that are currently using Exchange mailboxes, either by checking the box next to their name or clicking the “Select All” button. Click “Next”. You will be prompted to confirm the number of users you are           converting. Click “Submit”.

         g. Once the process completes, click “Next” and then “Finish” to exit the menu.

         h. Next, go to the “Server” window, right click on the Exchange server, and click “Delete”.  Assuming all users have been migrated off, the server should delete without incident.

     

     

              2. Removing and re-adding MAPI profile

                   NOTE: These steps must be performed while logged in to the server as the UC service account.

         a. Open MFCMapi. On the file menu, click “Profile” and then “Show Profiles”. Right click on your current Exchange profile and click “Delete Profile”. Once it has been deleted, to to “Actions” on the file menu and click “Exit”.

                             

     

        b. Back at the main menu on MFCMapi, go to “Session” on the file menu and then select “Logon”. You will be prompted to create a new profile. Click “Next”. On the next screen, fill in the name of the new exchange server as well as the name of the UC service account mailbox. Click “Next”

             

     

         c. Select “No” on the next screen and click “Next”. Click “Finish” on the final screen. Assuming the permissions are correct, you should see a mailbox and be able to double click on the mailbox to open another window without errors. If you double click the mailbox and it opens a new window, close MFCMapi.

             

     

     

              3. Restoring Exchange Settings

         a. In the UC client, go to the “Server” menu. Right click, select “New”, and select “Exchange”. Fill in the descriptive name for your server, the machine name, and the mailbox of the UC service account and click “OK”.

                             

     

         b. Go to “Tools” in the file menu, then “Options”. Select the “Message Delivery” tab and select the Exchange server in the “Send email using” drop down menu. Click “OK”.

                             

     

         c. Open the “Users” window. Right click and select “Migrate Users”. Click “Next” and select “Local users to Windows users and authentications”

                             

     

         d. Select the domain that the users are a part of and make sure the “Use Active Directory for messaging configuration” box is checked. This box will automatically select the mailbox of the user using settings from AD.

                             

     

         e. Finally, select all users that should be using Exchange mailboxes, either by checking the box next to their name or clicking the “Select All” button. Click “Next”. You will be prompted to confirm the number of users you are converting. Click “Submit”.