cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
hitmax
New Contributor

Total Access 908e and Brooktrout TR1034 Fax board compatibility

Can anyone confirm the if the Total Access 908e is compatible with the Brooktrout TR1034 fax board without the need for additional equipment between the 908e and the fax board?  Comcast sold us on their solution swearing it works but they've been unsuccessful in the past 3 months and from reading ADTRAN documentation I'm wondering if a piece of the puzzle is missing in the two devices being able to communicate with each other?

I have no experience with the Total Access 908e and Comcast does not allow the customer to directly interface with the device to make changes, which is understandable.

Mack

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Total Access 908e and Brooktrout TR1034 Fax board compatibility

Mack,

Can you provide examples of what the issues are?  A lot of times FAX issues are associated with the upstream side of the network and not always the Analog side.  I have seen when running FAX over SIP where FAX servers can be problematic.  There are some tweeks that can be made to improve FAX quality over SIP but may not resolve all issues.

Here's a couple of the Adtran Config tweeks to help with Modem/FAX issues:

If the cable run is less then 300 - 500 feet set the following:

interface fxs 0/XX
  impedance 600r

On any modem line showing communication problems set the following:

interface fxs 0/XX
  rx-gain +0.0
  tx-gain +0.0

Add the following to voice user config:

voice user XXXXXXXXXX
  modem-passthrough
  no echo-cancellation

jayh
Honored Contributor
Honored Contributor

Which Brooktrout TR-1034?  If you're trying to do DID/DPT wink you'll need the 924e-L2 version.

gregstahl
New Contributor III